March 2017 newsletter



March has proved to be a very pleasant reward for battling through what was the most ‘bummer summer’ that we experienced in the Horowhenua region. Unfortunately because of the weather, some of the summer family fun days were cancelled. However, the traditional boat day did take place, albeit with lower entries owing to a date change. A sausage sizzle was also held and all who attended had a great time.

Golf events were able to take place and we thank Ngaire Hunter, John Hewitson and Frank Averes for their reports.

18 Hole Golf

There was a little confusion with the start time for this event. However, the day was a good one for golf and those who participated enjoyed the playing conditions. From feedback, it may be that the date for this fixture would be better placed closer to the Christmas/New Year break. (Something for the committee to consider for the next event.)

Overall winner was Trish McKendry

Barry Smith won the men’s section

Second in the men’s group was Ash Roper and third David Hare.

Women’s Section winner was Trish McKendry

Second was Ngaire Hunter and Cecily Archer third

Men’s Longest Drive: Tony McKendry

Women’s Longest Drive: Cecily Archer

Nearest Pin for Men: David Hare

Nearest Pin for Women: Trish McKendry

The players returned to 4 Cathryn Street where a very pleasant refreshment break was taken and prizes presented. Thanks to the Brown Family for setting up chairs, etc.

Ambrose Golf

Two teams shot 35 gross, so a chip-off was played to determine the winning team. The 8 players concerned hit a ball from the “19th” (clubhouse BBQ area), onto the 18th green with Ken Archer securing the best shot for his team.

1st: Ken Archer, Ngaire Hunter, Joe Thomsen and Joe Sione. (35)

2nd:  Cameron Walker, Brooke, Quintin Houpapa and Brendon Beirne. (35)

3rd: John Brown, Isaac Smith, Tricia and Tony McKendry (36)

It is very interesting reading the names of past winners. Both Ken and Ngaire added their names for the first time after being regular participants. The shield kindly carved and donated by Jack Veltman is now full after 18 years.

Other Individual Winners were:

Cecily Archer: Women’s Longest Drive

Cecily Archer: Women’s Tee Shot Closest to the Pin

Barry Smith: Men’s Longest Drive

Joe Thomsen: Men’s Tee Shot Closest to the Pin

Ngaire Hunter: Longest Putt

Winners (L to R): Joe Sione, Ken Archer and Joe Thomsen with Ngaire Hunter in front holding the coveted trophy.
Winners (L to R): Joe Sione, Ken Archer and Joe Thomsen with Ngaire Hunter in front holding the coveted trophy.

Ngaire Hunter

Hi to all Newsletter Readers from your new Secretary — Kevin Burns

I was nominated Secretary of the Association at the AGM taking over from John Brown. John has, for many years, served us (like many other fine committee members) in an outstanding manner and this has been very much appreciated. John is remaining on as a committee member.

After having a lot of on-going connections with the Waikawa Beach community over many years, it is a challenge for me now to try out a ‘secretary-ship’. I intend to fulfil the role to the best of my ability, along with other committee members.

I (with my wife, Margaret) moved permanently to Waikawa Beach in December 2015 having owned our property for over 40 years. We had our new home built by April 2016 and have been residing in what we consider to be a pretty special area. We have learned a lot in our year here. We have much to give and we hope you will join with us to enhance our special ‘Place in the Sun’.

Please contribute whenever and whatever if you would like to promote and expound the virtues and joy of living/holidaying in the lower reaches of Horowhenua.

Changes have already been made within the local area as they affect the community. Check the Waikawa website for day-to-day happenings. There are interesting plans ahead, so as I say to my grandchildren in the backseat — ‘buckle up and enjoy the ride’.

Records are currently being updated, so please advise any changes of email, phone, address, etc. Further information and a list of contacts for any changes is listed below.

Kevin Burns



Please advise any change of email, phone, address, etc. (

Indicate whether you wish to be involved with Neighbourhood Support Groups (NSG)

Likewise, a Civil Defence network is being established (the need highlighted by the recent earthquakes)

Currently reformatting the Waikawa Beach website with new and interesting articles — check this out. I would like to thank Miraz Jordan for her contribution to the development of the website :

Intending to produce a small handout for new residents to inform them of relevant Waikawa Beach information.

WBRA Secretary (Kevin Burns) and WBRA Chairman (John Hewitson) — both contactable through

Annual subscriptions of $25.00 for 2017.

Please send cheque to: E White, PO Box 30309, Lower Hutt 5040.

Internet banking A/c No. is 03 0667 0268929 000 – include name and beach address.

Newsletters and notices are sent to members by email. If properties have multiple owners, please advise all email addresses to receive communications.

The first meeting of the Waikawa Beach Ratepayers Committee for 2017 is being held on Easter Sunday, 16th April 2017, at 10 a.m. If you have any issues you would like raised at this meeting, please advise the WBRA Committee ( before the day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Discover more from Waikawa Beach Ratepayers Association

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading